Life is Like Eating Artichokes

“Life is like eating artichokes, you have got to go through so much to get so little.”

– Thomas Aloysius Dorgan

For the first time ever, I learnt how to eat an entire artichoke two nights ago.

Bolly was tickled at my child-like fascination at the artichoke sitting on my plate.

We’ve dined in our fair share of Michelin-starred and gourmet restaurants, mid-range restaurants and street-side stalls but somehow I’ve just never had the opportunity to eat an entire artichoke.

Bolly was a good ‘teacher’ who guided me through the process. For those like me who may have not been exposed to the artichoke, WikiHow provides a very informative 11-step guide to eating an artichoke (who’s heard of an 11-step guide to eating a vegetable?).

WikiHow’s Steps 4 and 5 tell you to “take the outer leaves off one by one and hold like a potato chip. Coat the tip (the part that was attached to the heart of the choke) in whatever dip has been offered.” Ours was a mixture of mustard and olive oil.

I must say the process of eating an artichoke can actually be quite beautiful.  “Artichoke Art” maybe?

I’m actually surprised at the sense of humour in WikiHow’s guide. Step 9 says “Pull off the centre leaves…They cover a finer, almost hairy growth just on top of the heart of the artichoke. Some people call this part the “choke,” which is what you will do if you eat it, as it is very prickly.”

After removing the choke, you get to the crème de la crème of the artichoke…the artichoke heart. Tuck in to the sweet and tender heart🙂

For those who constantly tell me not to play with my dish or the leftovers…here’s what some ‘mischief’ can lead to…

All the effort to get to the heart of the artichoke. Nevertheless, I’d say it’s well worth it.

Just like life isn’t it? The reward is that much sweeter when we’ve put in our fair share of hard work.

6 thoughts on “Life is Like Eating Artichokes

  1. I’ve never been a big fan of artichoke simply because of the process of eating them. Now I will look at them in an entirely new light. Thank you Bolly. Virginia

  2. Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and following. I just finished going through your blog. It’s such a delightful blog. Your pictures of your travels really give me a window into your travels and who ever thought artichoke can look so good! I actually learned to eat and enjoy artichokes through my Italian best friends. I, on the other hand can’t cook them to save my life : )

    Looking forward to reading more of your post.
    viva le France! (or something like that)

    • Thanks for the compliment, Nazreen🙂

      We’ve been busy this summer and hence quiet on the blog but will be back with more posts on our thoughts and travels very soon.

      Like you, I can’t cook as well! Thankfully, Bolly is a fantastic cook🙂

Leave a Reply

