The Best Crêpes in Paris

I don’t know from where/when/how, but somehow the idea of buying a freshly made crêpe from a crêpe stand on a Parisian street, biting into it as I stroll along the River Seine seemed very Parisian/French to me when I used to visit Paris as a tourist.

When we moved to Paris, one of the ‘goals’ I had was to find the best crêpe in Paris. I’ve since come to realise that it’s quite a mean feat considering the panoply of choices here.

From what I’ve tried and have been recommended to, Breizh café in the yuppy Marais district in the 3rd arrondissement, Le Crêperie Bretonne Fleurie in the 11th arrondissement and Ty Breizh in the 15th arrondissement are worth a visit.  Many also flock to the crêperies along Rue du Montparnasse in the 14th arrondissement (though I must honestly say I’m a sceptic as I visited one of the supposed standout crêperie of the street, the Crêperie de Josselin and found the restaurant way too crowded, noisy and the dishes were almost literally plonked down on the table as the waiters hurriedly rushed from one table to the other. From another perspective, some may actually enjoy the buzz of the place so I guess it’s quite subjective…) What I would recommend is to get a crêpe from the crêpe stand just across the street from the Eiffel Tower, walk towards the Champ de Mars Park behind the Eiffel Tower, sit down enjoy your crêpe while you people-watch and admire the Eiffel Tower.

Though truth be told, I’ve stopped searching for the best crêpe. Not that I’ve given up but I’ve actually found the best crêpe ………….

BOLLY’S HOMEMADE CREPE!

The fact that it’s home-made means that I know what exactly goes in, am assured of the hygene standards, pay a fraction from what I have to cough up at a crêperie and most importantly, Bolly’s home-made crêpes are lip-smacking good!

One particular recipe is the crêpe with ham, cheese, mushrooms with home-made béchamel sauce…

The mouth-watering ensemble of ham, cheese, mushroom and home-made béchamel sauce

Bolly makes it look so easy…

And here’s the BollyChee homemade crêpe – a joint production since Bolly cooked while Chee took photos😛

7 thoughts on “The Best Crêpes in Paris

  1. I’ve grabbed my crepe pans (they’ve made a thousand crepes). I’ve made my batter. Crepes are on the menu tonight. You’ve inspired me Bolly. Virginia

Leave a Reply

